Remote Extension Won't Register

I’ve been pulling my hair out trying to get a remote extension setup but I can’t get it to register for the life of me. I’m a network engineer but don’t really have a deep understanding of how SIP works.

Anyways, I have a FreePBX server at my office and a Grandstream handset at my house. I followed the Freepbx Wiki guide when trying to set up the remote extension but it fails to register. All handsets local to the PBX work flawlessly.

Running a tcpdump on the pbx, I can see the traffic hitting the pbx but it doesn’t appear that it is sending any traffic back which I believe is the problem. Here’s what I’m seeing…

11:08:39.418000 IP wsip-X-X-X-X.21061 > 192.168.10.252.sip: SIP: REGISTER sip:X.X.X.X SIP/2.0
11:08:43.421929 IP wsip-X-X-X-X.21061 > 192.168.10.252.sip: SIP: REGISTER sip:X.X.X.X SIP/2.0
11:08:47.426417 IP wsip-X-X-X-X.21061 > 192.168.10.252.sip: SIP: REGISTER sip:X.X.X.X SIP/2.0
11:08:51.430768 IP wsip-X-X-X-X.21061 > 192.168.10.252.sip: SIP: REGISTER sip:X.X.X.X SIP/2.0
11:08:55.432909 IP wsip-X-X-X-X.21061 > 192.168.10.252.sip: SIP: REGISTER sip:X.X.X.X SIP/2.0
11:08:59.433804 IP wsip-X-X-X-X.21061 > 192.168.10.252.sip: SIP: REGISTER sip:X.X.X.X SIP/2.0

The first address is the WAN IP of my house and the address after the “REGISTER” is the WAN IP of my office.

I currently have NAT set to “yes” in the extension settings, I also have NAT set to “yes” in SIP settings and have my external address and local networks all setup correctly.

On the remote Grandstream phone, I have tried all of the different NAT settings but they all fail to work.

I have googled for many many hours and have not found a solution. Any help would be greatly appreciated.