Power cut now free pbx system 60 won't reboot

I had a power cut in the office and the sangoma freepbx system 60 won’t reboot. If I press the tab key during power up I get the following window where I am faced with the gnu grub version 0.97 screen.

What can I do to rectify this issue. I have the USB stick provided by sangoma for a reset, but it I don’t know how to get it to boot from the USB stick.

Can you get to the command prompt by pressing ‘C’?

John, I haven’t tried that as I am relatively new to this so I wasn’t sure what would be my next move. I can access the file by pressing ‘e’ so I reckon I can get to the command prompt. What do you recommend I try if I can get to the command prompt. Assume I need each step as I am a novice. Thanks in advance. Sven

Are you sure it’s not booting. Early versions would not show the boot process on VGA on only serial console.

It doesn’t boot… left it for along time. I just get a cursor where I can type what I want. Nothing happens though.

In or wiki we have guide under the appliance section how to reinstall.

Can you supply the link to the reinstall section please? It sounds like I need to get a console cable as well.

I am no Linux guru and there are so many more on this forum that are. Be warned! Any of the stuff I would try may really mess you up.

Power issues, Off then On, surges and stuff can mess you up. From a scrambled sector on your hard drive to a component failure.

BUT>>

I would try to hit C to see if it will boot into the console. If so, you should get the standard prompt and login as root. If not, I would pull the hard drive and mount it in another system and then do the following on whatever mount point it is located at.

I’d check and see if the hard disk has bad blocks/sectors. (commands given should work on current mounted drive). May have to Google as these are off the top of my head.

fdisk -l (lower case L)

…should give you an indication.

I would then try and fix the file system…

fsck -y