Please help me with registering Cisco phones on FreePBX

I really need some help with setting up a small network of cisco IP phones. I cannot get them to register. I have a SPA9000, a PC running FreeBPX and two cisco IP phones. A 7962 and a 8961. Both of them got their own IP addresses. I can access the 7962 online UI but there is nothing to configure. Just shows information. And I cannot access the 8961’s web UI at all, and yes I tried https://. The SPA9000 setup wizard does not see either phone. I’m a newbie, so this article (pbx DOT org/display/FOP/Cisco) didn’t help because I don’t understand how to accomplish almost all of the steps given in the article. I can see it wants me to update the phones firmware, but I don’t know what to download and then where to apply the changes with the firmware.

I just need these to be able to call each other. And I’ll hook up a trunk to make out going calls

So what am I missing, what do I need to do, and how do I do it?

It will take a week or two :wink:

http://usecallmanager.nz/sepmac-cnf-xml.html

I still don’t really understand what that is, and what to do with it

Is there a better phone to get? That is easier to configure? I saw that the SPA504G had a web UI that i could configure

Any of the Cisco SPA series are fine. Those are actual agnostic SIP phones and 100% SIP phones. The others are meant for Cisco’s call manager and their SIP stuff is funky.

Would you know how to work with Call manager express? Im in an academy provided by Cisco, and I think I can get CME.

I don’t do Cisco CM stuff so I’m not familiar at all.

Okay, thanks for your help though

You can use them with CHAN_SCCP_B.

Take a look at http://chan-sccp-b.sourceforge.net

Be advised that it will require some handwork, but it is definitely doable.

Do you know of any videos showing how to implement these to the phones? Im a newbie and have no idea what to do