PJSIP vs Chan_SIP... PJSIP extensions have bad static

I had been using Chan_SIP extensions. A couple of days ago I created new extensions using PJSIP because I have the need to have the same extension on multiple phones. I kept the old extensions, just in case.

Since switching my devices (Obi1062, Obi1032, Obi202) over to the PJSIP extensions, I have noticed some pretty bad static. Both the PJSIP & Chan_SIP are using the same trunk.

This evening I added the old extensions, Chan_SIP, to the devices so I can select the new or the old. I’ll make a call with the PJSIP extension, hear static… Hang up and call the same number with the Chan_SIP extension and the call is clear.

• Raspberry Pi 3B+ / RasPBX
  • FreePBX Version: 14.0.3.6
  • Asterisk Version: 13.20.0

Has anyone else experienced this or have anything suggestions on how to trouble shoot it? I’m relatively new to FreePBX/Asterisk.

I appreciate any help, thank you.

What calls are affected (intra-office, internal functions e.g. echo test or retrieving voicemail, outbound, incoming)?
Is the impairment heard by the extension user, the remote party, or both?
What does it sound like (choppy voice, watery sound, clicks and pops, distortion, too loud or too soft, etc.)?
If you record the call (in FreePBX), does the recording also sound bad?
On a problematic call, what codecs are in use (on phone and on trunk)?
When you use chan_sip instead, what codecs are in use?

1 Like

@Stewart1 Well done on the troubleshooting questions!!

Ok, sorry for not replying sooner. I needed to collect some of the info and I was off site for much of the time.

• Outbound and incoming
  • Extension user: static (clicks & pops). Remote user hears choppy.
  • Yes, the sound is heard on the recorded calls.
  • I couldn’t find a way to see the codec for previous calls. But during active calls, I could see it’s ulaw for both the chan_sip and pjsip extensions.