Phone line is busy - Connecting old modems for fun. Setup PSTN?

Hello.

First of all, I am a complete beginner, and I have no knowledge about this program or how modems and phones work. I collect old computers and I want them online using old modems of different kinds. Right now I am trying with a regular 56k modem,v90 or something like that using winxp.

The server:
Old pentium 4.
DAHDI Version: 2.11.1 Echo Canceller: OSLEC
Asterix version: 13.17.0
FreePBX 13.0.192.16
I have a tdm400p with 4 fxs modules. There is no molex power input on the card. All 4 led’s are green on the card.

When I try to dial something on my modem, it just says, “phone line is busy”.

I did not get any dial tone before, then I did stuff, and got “phone is busy”.
But I need to set up PSTN I guess? I tried to google this, but I can’t figure out completely how to set this up with my setup, how to get internet in through lan, and shared out to my modems.

Any help, suggestions are really appreciated ::slight_smile:

You can’t use modems for voice. That was never their intention, they were to do data. If you have a POTS line then you already have the ability to do voice because that’s what a POTS line does (regular phone service). You use the modem to do data like dial-up/DSL.

So a TDM400P with 4 FXS ports means it can support 4 POTS lines that are plugged into it.

So if I understand, TDM400P with FXS can do POTS which is regular phone service for use with phones, but it can’t talk to a modem? There is a guy on youtube, search for " Using modems without phone lines"

But, he is connecting to a BBS though, and perhaps that’s not the same as being able to get internet access?

Modems send/receive data. You cannot and never been able to talk over a modem like a normal call. It’s sending data the entire time. Those weird tones that you hear during a FAX or dial-up when the modem is connecting, that’s the data stream.