Outgoing call, 9 second delay

Hey,

I work in IT and wanted to do a project at home where I convert my analogue landline to VOIP. I have successfully managed to get most of this working but currently have two issues. One issue I have already created a topic about, but the other issue is where there is some strange delay on outgoing calls.

I have a Grandstream HT813, that is connected to my PSTN line on the FXO port. I then have a trunk and an outbound route on FreePBX that routes outgoing calls to the HT813. This works quite well but there is a strange delay with audio. If I place a VOIP call, say I call 91471. The FXO port opens on the HT813, but it takes 9 seconds before audio is heard from the IP phone. So, the call is in progress, but it takes 9 seconds for audio to be picked up, so the first 9 seconds of outgoing calls are missed.

I am not sure if this is a routing issue. If I use an analogue phone on the FXS port, I do not get this strange delay, so I am assuming something is not set correctly on my install of FreePBX.

I would appreciate any advice that could be given!

Cheers,
Richie

My guess would be that you have a DNS request timing out, but really, without logs, of the SIP and probably the RTP, this can only be a guess.

I have tried setting everything to IP addresses, assuming that this would rule out any DNS resolution issues, but the problem is still occurring. I have captured the log from when I placed a call to 91471 from an IP phone, to where I ended the call.

Line “6835 [2022-12-26 17:06:19] VERBOSE[20588][C-0000034f] bridge_channel.c: Channel PJSIP/0001-00000d2f left ‘simple_bridge’ basic-bridge ” is when I could first hear audio from the IP phone.

That’s when the audio should have ceased!

Reverse lookups may still be made.