Not playing audio & accepting dial pad input from outside lines

Hi, so i’m a college intern working at my cousins company and i’ve been assigned the task of working on setting up the companies phone system (with help of course), and well FreePBX seems to hate me! )=

I have inconsistently been having a few problems:

1) We don’t receive ANY audio (may it be the ringer, the voice mail message, or the person talking) when calls are made to or from any outside lines. The outside caller can hear us, we just can’t hear them. This problem occurs only when i’m receiving or sending calls to outside numbers. I’m fairly sure that this has always been the case, but there may have been one or two cases where the call may have worked properly once or twice with Skype (but again i’m not 100% certain). We tried to leave a voicemail on one of the internal extensions. Although a voicemail was left when i tried to play it on the computer quicktime said it was 0 second long (that might be an issue with my computer), when i tried to play it on that extension i heard absolutely nothing (not even static…), and when i tried to download the message onto my mac it didn’t play anything (and i know .wav files work because i am able to play the .wav files that i uploaded as a operator greeting.)

2) We have set it up such that all calls made are are forwarded to an IVR functioning as an operator (press ‘one’ for ‘this’ extension, press ‘two’ for ‘that’ extension) but most of the time it seems to just not accept input. Strangely this problem seems to be on and of, but as far as i can recollect the only times it has worked is when the IVR has no initial announcement, but then when i went back and turned on the announcement it immediately stopped working, and continued to do so even when i turned off the announcement 99.999% of the time. This problem doesn’t seem to be effected by the ‘timeout message’ or the 'invalid message’.