Noobie Question

Hey guys,

Other than using a cellphone, I am a complete newbie to telephony related technology, so please forgive my ignorance or noob questions.

I will really appreciate any help or advise you can offer on this front!

I am interested in creating an IVR solution. To give you an overview of the setup intended:

1. We have a normal landline

2. We would like to connect this landline to a PC or laptop via RJ11 cable to voice modem to pc.

3. We need to then setup an IVR option, so when calls come via landline, the caller hears options to select 1 for sales, 2 for support, 3 for accounts, etc.

4. The call then gets placed on hold by the IVR (music to play during hold) and then rings on a remote extension (Mobile/Cell number). Even though I have 2 or 3 options to select in the IVR, they will all go to same one number.

5. If call doesn’t get answered in 10minutes, then it diverts to a VOICEMAIL option within the system, mp3 recording of the VM greeting message can be created by us.

6. The callers voice message is recorded by the system in .WAV or .MP3 format and emailed by the system to an email id of our choice.

What would I need to make this happen? I am thinking of downloading the FreePbx Distro and using an old laptop or pc to run it. However, I am unsure of how to set it all up :frowning:

I believe I need:

1. FreePbx Distro

2. Landline + PC/Laptop

3. Voice Modem (thinking of this one: Multi-Tech Systems MT5656ZDX-V 56Kbps External Modem)

4. RJ 11 cable surely.

5. Recorded greetings for IVR

Am I on the right track with it all? Does FreePBX software manage all the IVR bits too too or would I need additional software/hardware to make it happen?

Thanks guys, looking forward to all your suggestions!

We can work with this

You will want to use an ATA of a line interface card. An ATA is going to be cheaper and will work with both mentioned platforms.

IVR is a core functionality

You can set up a queue for this, or several queues.