Noob questions

I run a small computer service company and have been using Vonage for a few years, but would like some more control/options. I’ve been looking around at different voip options and came across freePBX. I’m a complete PBX noob, so please excuse my ignorance.

I’ve googled around for some sort of starter guide, but haven’t found anything, so I figured I’d just ask.

I’m looking to solve 2 main problems. The first of which is lowering my phone bills. I pay about $250/month on phone service and have ~10 different phone numbers that are local to the different communities I service.

I’d like to make it so each of those lines is a DID (if I am understanding what DID’s are) and have one or two main lines on which the phone actually rings at a desk.

The second problem that I’m looking to solve is that of tracking the phone traffic on each individual phone number - e.g. some sort of database/spreadsheet with each call, time, length, callerID info, etc… Is that something that freePBX does?

One last question - is it possible to run this all on my internet connection without any interaction with the local phone company (Verizon)?

You can point multiple inbound routes to a single destination, whether it be an extension, call group, queue, etc. You don’t need multi line phones.

I really don’t need 10 lines, just multiple phone numbers. I really only need a couple actual phones. I do have a couple Polycom phones and plenty of old pc’s, so hopefully I won’t need to buy any (much) equipment.

Is it possible to have multiple inbound phone numbers to ring at one or two base phones? Does FreePBX archive information about each call in a usable form?

Thanks for the responses.