No progress tone when dialling out

Hi, I have this issue that happens possibly for everyone on the PBX where when they dial out there is no dial tone and when the person they are calling picks up, but they can’t hear each other.

The PBX is hosted in the cloud and this has happened at 2 different sites with different network setups.

Which log should I be looking at?

Insufficient information. As that normally means SIP, any dialtone you hear from a SIP phone is generated, by the phone, before it has made contact with the PABX (unless you are using something like DISA which might generate a secondary dialtone.

Missing audio, or one way audio, on SIP is normally caused by NAT or firewall misconfiguration.

Sorry, I am somewhat new to FreePBX, so I’m not sure what logs are important to this issue.

I personally think that it’s unlikely a NAT issue, as I’ve seen happened on two completely different routers (pfSense, EdgeRouter), is there a particular setting that needs to be on/off?

The settings most people get wrong with respect to NAT are not on/off settings, but rather the public addresses, and the list of local network specifications.

qualify and registration intervals can also be relevant if audio fails part way through a call, and again are not on off.

Router port forwarding ranges need to cover those configured for Asterisk (default 10,000 to 20,000, which really should he 10,000 to 19,999.

I guess the main on/off setting is that SIPALG (or equivalents under other names) should be turned off in the router.

Logs are those mentioned in Providing Great Debug - Support Services - Documentation, but you may need to enable debugging for the channel driver (depends on the channel driver), and you may need to turn on RTP debugging (CLI: rtp set debug on).

Generally required is the channel driver in use and network topology (for IP particularly the location of NAT).