New to VOIP

Hello. We upgraded our old phone system last year to FreePBX. The system runs good for a couple days and then incoming and outgoing calls start to get choppy. I’ve contacted xfinity, who has our internet service, and they see a lot of dropped packets from the modem. Our current service is 100mbps. When I restart the modem, the issue goes away for a couple days and then progressively gets worse. I’ve recently had the modem replaced and am still experiencing the same issues. The phones are on their own vlan. I’m thinking that there may be some network configuration issue. We are using Meraki devices on the network and have 20 phones at our main office. I’ve been in contact with the installer of the system and Xfinity. Xfinity has be restart the modem and the VOIP installer claims its an Xfinity issue. I’m thinking that it’s a network configuration issue. I’m new to this service. I would appreciate any help. Thank you.

What services does the modem provide? DHCP? Routing? If you have a typical modem that ONLY transfers data from/to the provider, then I find it difficult to follow your leap that anything other than the modem is at fault here.

The modem provides DHCP routing. It’s basically a router/modem. I’ve put the gateway into bridge mode and that shut everything down. We have 13 static IP addresses attached to our Xfinity service. I had someone tell me that putting the gateway in bridge mode would cause issues with the static IP addresses. Not sure if that’s true or not. Also, I’ve connected an ATA device on our network to connect a fax machine. I keep getting “poor line quality” and failed faxes. Not sure if that’s connected or not.

Contract a consultant or someone that knows what they are doing. You have basic network design issues to resolve here.

Thanks.

There are several options here.