New PBX user

So, I am completely new to the telephony game and I am starting to experiment with voip service.

A bit of background here, I work from home and I am required to provide and support my own telephony service for inbound calls. Currently I just pay for a POTS line as it is cheap and reliable, but not convenient. I am only needing a single line/single seat solution, if all goes well I may consider expanding.

The reason for this line is that I receive alot of inbound calls as part of a “hunt group?” I think they are called? Someone needs to reach an agent so they start dialing out through the list of available agents one by one. We need to “hook” the call within 20 seconds to get routed the call. If We don’t answer within that time, it re-routes to the next available agent. This is easy with a POTS line, routing is near instant. I have tried with cellular service and I have seen where it takes 15+ seconds to actually get routed the call, therefore I often miss the call and it gets logged negatively against my performance. They just assume I am avoiding work.

In short, I need a line without much latency in routing. I have tested with google voice and routing is sub 3 seconds, which makes me believe VOIP is a viable solution. However, Google Voice is not a valid option for me for other reasons.

Now, another aspect I need is of course call quality, another factor here. Coming from a technical background, I understand the impact of packet loss and jitter when using voip services. That’s something I can definitely get a handle on with some decent QOS, and all voip providers are expected to have this handled on their end as well. Basically, all ends of the call need to have crisp clear audio, it just contributes to the overall experience.