NEW: Help decide if FreePBX is right for my home network?

I am relatively new to FreePBX and am trying to decide if this is a good VoIP solution for my home network.
I have a dedicated HP server that runs vmware and can run any operating system including Linux/PBX.
I have a few Cisco 7975G Color IP Display Phones I am trying to make use of.

I am researching to see if FreePBX would be a good solution for my home network and wanted to ask for assistance in understanding how to set up outbound connection (trunks) to call out. This point is very critical to me including available providers. I do not have a landline (POTS) but have Vonage and Magic Jack VoIP services which for now i can test with, if possible. I found some good YouTube videos on this topic but they do not answer my questions in full. Here are my questions.

1. What is the difference between FreePBX vs. Distro vs. Asterisk?

2. How much disk space/CPU/Memory should be allocated for new FreePBX installation (10 users)?

3. What is the stable FreePBX recommended version today?

4. Should I get external service or can I use current Vonage and or Magic Jack devices for outgoing calls?

5. How can I set up outbound routes using the above devices or what other options available out there?

6. For firewall, what ports needs to be opened between the phones and PBX server and PBX server and Internet?

Thanks in advance and please advise.

1. Asterisk is the PBX software (the part that operates the phones). FreePBX is the management software (which operates Asterisk). “Distro” is the prepackaged software that installs everything you need for FreePBX.

2. I always presume 320M. If you aren’t saving voice recordings, you can get by with a lot less, as long as you do your housekeeping (getting rid of old log files, etc.)