New/First Installation Advice Please

Hi All,

I am new to FreePBX but have heard of great success with it and want to give it a try.

We currently have an analog Avaya PBX in place. I am looking to replace all the phones with Mitel IP phones and a FreePBX server with some SIP Trunks. I am unsure what phones are compatible or not and a Google search showed some results of people having trouble getting Mitel phones to connect to the server.

I am currently look at getting one Mitel 5330 for testing/trial purposes and in the future, if all goes well, Mitel 5324, 5224, 5312, and 5212 phones (or possible just all Mitel 5224s) Has anyone ever tried these phones? Do all of them work well with the system? (I am pretty sure the 5224 works)

Is there anything else that a first-timer should know in setting up a FreePBX system? (for example, is there a limit on the number of phones, etc)

Thanks so much in advance! :slight_smile:

Sam

There is no limit on any capacity items beyond your server and data infrastructure.

Head on over to the wiki and check out the getting started guides.

The Mitel’s do work but they are not a popular nor heavily supported phone. As a new used I would stick with a popular phone that many users run such as Aastra, Yealink, Polycom, Cisco SPA series, Digium etc.

That’s awesome that there’s no limit. Avaya on the other hand charges something crazy like $100 for an endpoint IP license!

I’ve just took a look at the wiki. Looks good. I found this guide a few days ago: http://cypressnorth.com/technology/voip/setting-up-a-small-office-or-home-office-voip-system-with-asterisk-pbx-part-1/ which is what got me into FreePBX. I hope he has all the steps right, but that is basically what I’m trying to achieve.

I did not know that Mitel’s were not popular. I see Mitel phones alot around where I live. If they are compatible however, I would like to use them. I’ve always liked the build quality and design of these phones.