Multiple lines for each phone

Hello all,

Disclosure: I am new to PBX/phones in general so I think my issue is in the vocabulary.

I have FreePBX installed and functioning fairly well with two DAHDi lines on my Digium card. I can call either number and it all works perfectly. I am trying to make it so that on my phones I can select the outbound line.

I have an outbound route for each line but no dial patterns as we run many entities under our umbrella and may dial any number on any line to reach a client.

I am not sure how to select the line on the phone, do I need to use a feature code wired to each “line” button on my phones?

I don’t think it matters yet but my phones are Grandstream GXP2000/2020s.

Thanks a ton for the awesome product!!!

You probably need to read the wiki here to start and search the forums as there are several dozen covering exactly what you are trying to do, I think you misunderstand what dialpatterns do, they would allow you to do exactly what you want to.

Thanks for the tip, I will look into that tomorrow when I get to work.

Hello,

Taking dicko’s advice I have been digging through the wiki and forums/google results but I am still confused on how to implement a way to select an outbound route with a line button from the phones.

After reading through this:: http://wiki.freepbx.org/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=5538110#NewSystemSetupGuide(WIP)-OutboundRoutes and anything else I could find on dial patterns, my limited understanding still has me seeing dial patterns as a way of saying “any number that matches a given regex will go out this route”

I don’t think the issue is with FreePBX, the forums or the wiki, I am pretty sure that I just don’t know what I don’t know.

I am digging through the interfaces on my phones(web and on the LCD) trying to find the configuration for Line 1, Line 2…

If someone could point me in the right direction I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks,

Mitchell