Multiple extensions barging / call pickup without dialing feature code?

I’m new to FreePBX, a former programmer but certainly not a phone geek and definitely confused by all the terminology.

Situation/desired functionality:

• OBI202 in Utah home (connected to a Panasonic PBX)
  • Multiple OBI1062s in California home
  • All phones/extensions, in both locations, to ring at once
  • Any extension to pick up an incoming call or join an active call with someone on another extension simply by lifting the handset and pressing one button

I am not talking about 3-way calling or conference calls. It’s one call (incoming or outgoing), with multiple participants (in the same or different locations) on my end. An incoming caller would not select or be routed to a particular extension (except rollover from line 1 to line 2 if line 1 is busy).

This may be “Call Barging” … but instead of dialing a feature code and an extension to participate, the person joining the call would press the BLF corresponding to the busy extension, and be able to hear and talk with the outside party.

I don’t know if this is possible with the OBI gear and FreePBX, but it was simple/automatic with analog phones and POTS (at least in one location). I don’t need to know the specific steps to follow now, but I do want to know with some confidence whether what I want to do can be accomplished.

Thanks in advance for your help!

What you are referring to seems a lot like SLA or shared line appearance. That functionality is not easy to achieve if at all possible. Some embedded PBXs, like the SPA9000 together with the SPA942 phones, can do it, but probably due to a proprietary implementation. Certainly you can google about asterisk+sla.

Hello @kenjacobs,

Yes, you can barge into a call and speak with both sides with the ChanSpy aplication.
You need to enter a special code (999 for example) to activate the application in the from-internal-custom context:

[from-internal-custom]