MOH Streaming Sounds like static and distortion

I’m having problems with Music On Hold streaming. I’m quite new to Elastix, Asterisk, and FreePBX. When I try to add my stream from Shoutcast it sounds distorted and/or static and/or ex-x-x-tremely slow. It’s hard to explain, but I do have mpg123 installed.

I don’t think this matters, but from the Music On Hold in unembedded FreePBX, when I click on one of the categories or try and add a new one, it tells me ‘potential security breach’ and I can not continue on. So I’m setting it up from the Elastix.

Any idea what could be causing the distortion. I haven’t found anything that resembles my issue online and would appreciate some guidance.

Sorry Elastix is not supported here, they don’t use a legitimate FreePBX because they forked it all up a couple of years ago. Maybe the can help you there.

hmm, interesting. I understand, thanks for letting me know so I’m not left hanging.

I received a response from this forum and I didn’t get any kind of reply from the other place. Even from support, when I had (still do) a login issue. So I’m putting my resolution here.

It has to do with the line for the application. I thought I had it right to begin with but probably not since it’s working now.

/usr/bin/mpg123 -q -s --mono -r 8000 -f 8192 -b 0 http://ip.add.ress:port

I removed and added each of the commands/options to see what affected the stream. When I removed the -r #### I found an increase in the play speed. I tried 16000, 32000, 64000, 128000. They didn’t seem to improve the speed any more and I believe 128000 didn’t play at all. So I put everything back the way I thought I had it. I googled for the tutorial again and found the command above pasted that in and tried it expecting it not to work. But sure enough it did. I changed the -r #### again and the play back slowed down again. So I’m now leaving it at -r 8000.

If anyone knows how I can improve the quality of the sound a little it would be appreciated.