Looking for starting point - Want to use FreePBX API to create customer portal

Hi,

First time post to this forum… I’m a PHP/MySQL developer. A client doesn’t want to expose their FreePBX machine to the WWW for customers to login and check voicemail, set their away status, etc. I know there is a nice GUI already built into FreePBX for this sort of thing but how can I move that to another server and not expose the actual FreePBX machine?

Thanks in advance,

Josh

First welcome to the forum.

You have struck a nerve with me, customers, that implies this is a revenue generating operation, reselling service on a platform that is not designed for this use? If this assumption is wrong then the rest of my post does not matter.

So the client is paying you and you come in and ask how to move an application to another server? Don’t you think that is an awful broad question?

If you look at the code and start the process and have questions you will probably get a warmer response. Most of the variables for the server that the ARI (the interface you are talking about) are defined in an includes. Did you even look at the code before posting.

Now if you really wanted to warm up to the team you could have posted something like this out of the box:

Hi, I am new to the forum and I have a client that has requested I make some changes to FreePBX to support their business model. Since they understand that this community is self supporting and they want to contribute back to the project and code that I develop.

Our goal is to move the ARI interface to a separate server than the server running FreePBX and Asterisk. I have moved the ARI to the new server, setup the database and Asterisk Manager Interface credentials for the new machine and I am having the following problems:

How can I work with the developers to insure that my changes have the best change of being accepted into the main line release?

----- End suggestion