Kernel Panic - Can't install on Intel NUC 8 (NUC8i3BEK)

Our old FreePBX server is on it’s last legs (leaking caps) so we thought we’d buy a little NUC and install FreePBX on it. Sounded simple, but it isn’t!

When I try to install FreePBX (the full install with CertOS7, etc) I get a kernel panic error on install. Disabled the usual suspects in BIOS, made sure I was on the latest BIOS version, but that didn’t help. I next tried just installing the latest version of CertOS 7, but that didn’t work either. I WAS able to install CertOS8 without any problems.

I am not a Linux expert by ANY stretch. With the upcoming CertOS 8 EOL issues, etc I would much rather do the complete install from FreePBX with CertOS7 to minimize future problems.

Has anyone been able to install FreePBX on a Intel NUC 8th generation)??

Install Linux Mint 64-bit on your NUC. Install Virtualbox. Install freePBX as a VM. I have four systems in use…100% stable!

I had the same situation. An Intel NUC is a great way to run your PBX. I installed Windows 10 Pro and set up a HyperV virtual machine, then installed the FreePBX distro. It works great. I have to monitor the Windows box on a regular basis to make sure I install the Windows updates, tho!

Hmmm. I like the idea of Mint and FreePBX as a VM since I already purchased the NUC.

I don’t want to do Windows 10 and a VM, mostly because of the random OS updates and reboots.

Still, if I were to do things over I would buy different hardware.

-W

Dont buy different hardware. NUC is perfect. Linux Mint is stable and does not install updates automatically. You have to add your VM to startup applications in Mint. A manual how to install Virtualbox you will find online.
Use the free remote SW Nomachine to access your NUC. You dont need a monitor. You might need a HDMI dummy to increase graphic resolution.

FreePBX as a virtual machine has many advantages. It is HW independent! You can easily create return points (Backups) in case something goes wrong.