IVR and Fax Problems

I am not a linux expert but i managed through reading to install FreePbx and get it working with the basic features, i have the following:
1- Machine with Centos 5.4
2- Free PBX running version 2.6.0.1
3- FXO Gateway welltech 3804

I created an IVR and i read that if i want to test it i should dial 7777 but when i dial that nothing happened, i need to know what extension should i dial to use it for hotline with the FXO, i need also to test the system fax how can i make sure it is working?

Thanks in advance.

create a misc application feature code that points to your IVR to test it and dial that number. Testing you fax depends on what you mean by testing it. Create a route for your fax configured how you want it (detection, no detection but directly to fax, etc) and send yourself a fax from somewhere…

Dear Philippe
thank you very much for your help, i got the IVR to work, but i didn’t yet try the fax, my problem now is that when i call from the PSTN the gateway send the call using hotline to the IVR extension if i try to hangup from the PSTN the Asterisk doesn’t hangup the call until the time out is finished and if i use the t option in the ivr to transfer to operator the asterisk keeps the line open although i hanged up the PSTN call, i made sure that my voice gateway understand the disconnect tone but it seems that Asterisk doesn’t. any help?

Does your telco send a disconnect signal on your analogue trunks ? If it does and your gateway recognises it you will have to set up your asterisk box to recognise it as well. Some gateways - SPA400 - just pass through what they get from the telco then you adjust your trunk settings to suit. some gateways are more trouble than they are worth.