Issues Connecting to Trunk

Hello everyone. I am new to asterisk and FreePBX. I set up my server, connected my soft-phone but I am having issues setting up the trunk and making calls. I made an extension and added a caller ID there. If I wanna use multiple caller IDs and have a different on for different extensions. Does that means I can leave the CID field in the trunk settings blank? I added a caller ID to the extension but still nothing. The server seems to connect to the trunk since when I make a call it tells me “the number you have dialed is not available”.

So I have a few question. What is the best way to check if your setup if connected to the trunk?
How should I type in the CID when needed? Should the country code be included? What about the ‘+’? During setup asterisk asked me for my country code and I put one, does that mean I can just enter the CID in FreePBX without the code?

I also need some help setting up incoming calls, is there anything specific I need to do? Keep in mind I am using gotrunk and already have a number ready. I am using IP verification and not credentials. I followed the gotrunk instructions for FreePBX but when dialing the number from my personal phones it hands up before making any noise… Thank you!

OK - slow down. What you said doesn’t comport with the way the system works.

Asterisk (and by extension, FreePBX) is a back to back user agent. One of the ‘backs’ is the extension interface. You connect extensions to the system and your extensions interact with Asterisk. The other ‘back’ is the trunk interface, which is connected to Asterisk through a series of routes (inbound and outbound).

The only connection between these (extensions and trunks) is that they go through Asterisk.

So, as the tutorials and wiki pages describe, the process is something like the following:

1. Set up your extension(s) so you can communicate with the PBX.