Is FreePBX right for me? (I want to call someone in a different country using the internet to save on roaming fees.)

Hello!

A quick little about me: I’m not technically versed in the PBX world. I know computer basics and I can set up a Raspberry Pi. I’ve tried to gather as much information as possible, but please go easy on me! :slight_smile:

I have a friend in a different country and she has a very bad 3G/4G connection so any calls over data (e.g. Skype or WhatsApp) drop all the time. I wish to be able to call her “locally”, using some sort of device I can maybe make out of a Raspberry Pi.

There’s a business I’m involved in, which operates in the same country where she lives. There’s broadband / LAN connections on the business premises. I’m thinking that I could have a Raspberry Pi connected there with a dongle that has a local SIM card. (“GSM gateway”?)

I’d like to use my internet connection from where I live to call the Raspberry Pi because it would have a stable internet connection as well, then have the Raspberry Pi “call” her over GSM. I think this is called “call termination”, however the closest to this tha I found in an out of the box solution costs almost 300 euros!

I’m not sure what the software would look like, so I stumbled on FreePBX and I’m thinking maybe it can work. Does anyone have experience with trying to achieve what I’m trying to? I’d like to avoid paying for a VoIP provider. If I can make this myself and send it to my friend, I can have someone then install it at the business location including getting the prepaid SIM card for voice.

I’d love any pointers / guides how to do this. Thank you so much.

This drops your traffic back onto the 4G network, so you’re not going to gain much.

Setting up a FreePBX server at the remote and and then using it to avoid tariffs (even if it is for a perfectly reasonable technical reason) might get you in a little more trouble than you might want.