Intermittent and annoying inbound route issue

Hello all,

I am an asterisk /FreePBX/Trixbox/Elastix newbie and I have run into an issue that I’m having trouble solving. I have searched through the site and have not seen a thread with this issue, so hopefully this isn’t a topic already covered.

I have a pretty fresh install of Asterisk 1.8, PIAF Purple, and Incredible PBX 3. I have to say it’s fantastic, but intermittently when I place a call from my cell phone to my PBX DID I get a message saying the number is not in service. After 20 or so minutes, it will work just fine.

I thought it was my provider at first but then noticed if I change the destination in my inbound route, it would then work again right away. It does not matter the type of destination (IVR,Extension…etc). I also noticed in my SSH session there is no communication with the server when I place a call from my cell phone while it is in its “not in service” state.

I have not made any changes directly to conf files. All changes have been made though FreePBX.

Anyone have any ideas? I’m stumped.

Changing the destination is causing a SIP reload and “waking up” the NAT translation in your router.

If it’s a NAT/router issue, I’m confused as to how only this distro seems to be affected.

I’ve made some changes with my router and I’ll give it some time and try again.

Thanks for your help!

You did not mention that detail. What version of Asterisk worked and what didn’t?

No matter what I am sure if you look at the logs you will see timeouts trying to communicate with your SIP peer. You may want to review the logs for the time period you could not receive inbound calls.