Installing FreePBX on a Synology NAS

I would like to get some help if possible, in installing the FreePBX on my Synology NAS DS920+. I’m new to FreePBX and I have used Docker in Synology to install the FreePBX and it says it is running but can’t find any information on the proper way to access it.

Little about our company: We are a new Not-for-profit company and only have 4 people and need the ability to grow. We need to be able to receive inbound calls that first go to an auto-attendant and then will distribute the calls. We also want the feature to have music on hold. Lastly, I want to be able to transfer calls and have conference calls.

If anyone could help, I would appreciate it.

Thanks

For a small org, this is probably not the way to go. If cost is a real barrier I would suggest finding a PC tower and install from the ISO. Alternatively, depending on where you are based it might be worth spend a small amount per month on a VM with Vultr, Digital Ocean or the likes that have a full ISO image that you can spin up easily and then just increase the spec of the VM as you grow.

Trying to run in docker is not recommended at best of times and let alone on a NAS.

I don’t understand why the FreePBX would not run on the Synology NAS. I have been working with mine for 2 years now and love it. It sounds to me that so many people are being forced to buy other hardware by not giving support. I do know there are some people out there that use it on their NAS. At this time it’s installed and running but trying to learn how to access it from the terminal.

The fact that you and others have managed to get something to work doesn’t mean that’s the best way to do it.

Just did a quick look and they advertise some kind of VM Manager so there maybe someone who is more familiar with that setup. Historically NAS was just storage and not running full machines.