Inbound calls being rejected by FreePBX

I am quite new to FreePBX. I am using Asterisk (Ver. 11.13.1). My server registers without a problem with the SIP provider, and I can make outbound calls with the trunk config I have. I cannot receive calls though.

When I configure the Grandstream GXP1405 to connect to the provider directly, I can make and receive calls, so it doesn´t appear to be a NAT or Firewall issue. Using Zoiper, I can also connect, make and receive calls without a problem.

The provider uses g729 - I have a license installed on my server that I bought from Digium (and on Zoiper, purchased from Apple Store).

The pcap logs from the provider end show FreePBX dropping the call when it comes in (a BYE message) - the caller gets a BUSY message/tone.

There are a variety of logs in FreePBX, but am unsure what to post to help with troubleshooting. Can anyone suggest what I can do to work out and resolve the problem please?

The very first place to start is to talk to the provider. They will have FreePBX setup instructions.

Secondly, I’m not much of a fan of G729. Unless you’re behind a dialup modem, it’s often not worth the heartache.

Thanks for the fast reply Rob - the provider has shown that they feel it´s my setup that is at fault, as the service works on Zoiper and the Grandstream when connected directly. They are not familiar with FreePBX (I´m living in Brazil, and the market is not as developed here it would seem) but have some basic guidelines for setting up the Trunk, inbound and outbound details.

As for g729 - as above…much of Brazil´s IP connectivity feels like it IS on a dialup modem!

What information can I share from the logs or setup that might shed some light on what the problem is?

There are some generic tips here that may help - https://sysadminman.net/blog/2012/freepbx-inbound-number-not-working-help-4435 and here - https://sysadminman.net/blog/2013/inbound-number-ddidid-with-freepbx-2-10-5251