HT813 FXO port to extension

Hi all
Apologies if this is a very simple request, but I’m new to all of this and trying to learn along the way

I am in the process of building a warden call demo rig. Normally we’d buy a “pre built” PBX/DECT set up from our supplier and simply plug and go but in this situation, the PBX supplied would be far too over the top and too big for the kit. So I am trying to build one

The results required are quite simple. The warden call system has a simple phone output and when it requires interaction, it would simply ring a phone if plugged in directly to the control rack. What I am trying to achieve is for this to ring a DECT handset. I’ve got a RTX DECT base set up with a handset which is paired up to extension 501 Freepbx server running on a PI. That side of things works fine. The bit I’m having issue with is the warden call to PBX side.

The warden call control rack is connected to a HT813 on the FXO port. I have created a trunk on the PBX (5000) which is programmed into the FXO page of the ATA. No matter what I do, I can’t get it to dial out, or dial into the warden call. I realise I haven’t “told” the PBX to direct those calls to 501 and I’m not quite sure how to do that, but even dialling 5000, I can’t dial into the warden call system. The system acknowledges the line is seized by the ATA but there’s no speech.

Any hints or tips please?

I am not very familiar with warden call systems, but as I understand it, there are two common configurations. When the warden is at a remote site, the system connects to a POTS line or similar and dials out to call the remote warden. If you were trying to emulate this, you would use the FXS port on the HT813. In the other config, the warden is local and the system emulates a POTS line, ringing the warden’s directly connected analog phone.