How to set up mobile voip account for iphone

I am new to asterisk and freepbx. I have an iphone 6 that I want to set up on my freepbx server. Can anyone tell me how to set up an account on a local voip number for my iphone. I also have a sim card writer. I am not sure about how to use the sim car writer. Trying to figure it out.

I have a source to buy phone numbers. I just need to know what to do in the admin to set up an account.

Hi, look into software such as Acrobits Groundwire, Zoiper, and Linphone as a few examples of SIP clients you can install on your iPhone and use with FreePBX. There is also Zulu which works with FreePBX Distro.

I was under the impression I could program the sim card for a cell phone and point the sim card at my voip server and use the iphone over wifi only.

At least I just need to know how to set up a phone number on the server. I think I am going to have a line on an ip phone too. It is just that I was reading up on asterisk and it is capable of doing mobile voip on any cell phone that has wifi calling capabilities.

If you are using wifi only, you do not need a SIM.

I was under the impression that If I want to use the actual phone and not an app id have to use a sim. I will be selling mobile voip service off this server. I was hoping to set up a mobile phone on it without an app.

Keep in mind I do need to know how to set up a phone number on the asterisk / freepbx server.

https://www.voip-info.org/forum/threads/gti-global-mobile-services.24547/ is probably the project you are looking for.

It looks like I am trying to do something much like what they are doing.

So you want to do the same thing they are doing, but you have no experience with voip and a SIM card writer you don’t know how to use?

I am curious where you got the impressions you mentioned earlier. Someone seems to have pointed you down an interesting and challenging path.

Best is just to start reading. wiki.freepbx.org is the documentation for FreePBX.