How to remove a prefix on a dialed extension?

Hi,
I’m fairly new to FreePBX, but I have a need to remove four digits from a dialed extension in order for it to be a valid extension and although I can do this simply in outbound routes, I’m confused on how to do that with internal extensions.

First, the reason I had phones adding a prefix is in order to determine the physical location of the phone and therefor the outbound DID and the correct physical address (for E911). We have a public login system where users can log in to their phone with their extension and passcode, at any phone, at any location, and so the phone itself, not the extension, needs to determine location using the prefix.

I’ve just enacted this setup in order to deal with the new E911 rules, which as I say works wonderfully for outbound calls, but unexpectedly broke the internal calls. I should also add that the four digital prefix is obviously going to change depending on the location, so the prefix removal needs to be wildcard for at least one of the digits.

Help anyone?

Would you mind explaining how you add the 4 digits (location ID) automatically? On the phone level or routing level?

1 Like

I don’t know what the OP did, but doing it at the phone level is an excellent idea, because you could just rewrite 911 (and 933 or whatever your emergency test number is).

We are using these inexpensive Grandstream 1625 phones (linux OS I believe) that have the option of adding a prefix to the dialed number, under each line’s call features (two lines on this model). It is the only way I can think of to get the location of the phone itself because of the hotdesking we are doing and the fact that they log in at multiple locations, which need their own E911 address now.