How to customize ring group

freepbx ver 2.8
asterisk 1.6
piaf ver 1.7 64bit

without delving into a lot of details on why this needs to be achieved, i am looking for suggestions and perhaps some working code sample of testing the following in frepbx without breaking it

have a ring group already present in freepbx which works
everytime the call enters the ring group, need to call a url, with the originating extension passed to the url as a variable and allow the ring group code to continue as dictated by freepbx developers

url sample is:
http://myserver.local/doaction.php?origexten={asterisk-variable}

i would like to know what the code should look like and where it should go in freepbx config files without getting over written by freepbx upon reloads and such
any idea, suggestions are appreciated.

i am no asterisk coder, but i can read code and understand without too much trouble.

thanks for ideas and suggestions.

This MIGHT work - no guarantees, but it may get you pointed in the right direction.

Add two lines in /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf under the existing [from-internal-custom] context (this context should already exist in the file, just add this at the bottom):

exten => 00000,1,TrySystem(wget -b -O /dev/null -o /dev/null “http://myserver.local/doaction.php?origexten=${asterisk-variable}”)
exten => 00000,n,Busy

Note that if there are any “special” characters in the URL you may need to use the hexadecimal equivalents (such as %20 instead of a space). You may also need to URIENCODE your Asterisk variable if there is any possibility it could contain special characters, such as ${URIENCODE(${asterisk-variable})}