How a CID looks like

Hi,

First of all I’m a very noob in IPBX. Sorry if my question does not seem smart or my explanation are not that clear, I’m still learning.
I have install a FreePBX server with one trunk ( OVH provider)

I have an issue with the trunk billed by the provider. They billed me on a “per second” trunk which is not even configured on the IPBX. (but we effectively owned this trunk)

They are telling me the CID is the problem. I asked them what should it looks like but they did not answered me.

Can you tell me what it should lool like in a tcpdump capture?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Many thanksby advance for any help

It sounds like they want the Caller ID you set in your outbound calls to match whatever they have told you your Caller ID should match. That’s reasonable - lots of places use that to prevent CID spoofing.

In your CID field in your trunk, set it to

“CID WHATEVER” <CIDNUMBER>

Where “WHATEVER” is the name they’ve identified with your account. The “<NUMBER>” should be the number they assigned to your account. Quotation Marks and the braces (<>) are required in almost all cases.

Now, just to make it harder:

• They may or may not require a Country Code or “+” on the CID.
  • They may or may not required the CID Name to match exactly.
  • They should have told you exactly what the CID Number needs to look like in the contract when you established this account.

You need to check with your provider to get the exact requirements for your specific implementation.

One last wrinkle:

CID is what this information is called when it’s coming “out of band”. There is also something called “Direct In Dial” (DID), which is what your phone number is. Many people confuse these. Here’s the difference:

On an inbound (to you) call, DID is the number that was dialed to get to you. CID is the number of the person calling you. CID comes in two parts - the CID Name and CID Number. There is no DID Name (it is only a number).