Help with HT503 and FreePBX - Nothing should be this hard

I am new to FreePBX and running 14.0.5.25. I am trying to add access to my local landline via a Grandstream HT503 but have had no luck. Nor have I been able to find any clear guidance online. I would welcome any assistance or guidance for dialing 79 and getting the local landline and perhaps inbound call reception. Thank you in advance. Respectfully - Hank

https://community.freepbx.org/search?q=ht503

Did you check in here? There are lots of topics that start out with your or a similar lament, running through to success.

I did not but will. Thank you for taking the time to reply.

It would be a great service if you were to write a step-by-step description of what you did that worked, in case none of these articles provides a solution for you. The HT-503 can be tricky, especially since we are using it for something it arguably wasn’t designed to do.

So this didn’t work? Sangoma Documentation

1 Like

Up front I am not a telephone technician - I’m a radio technician, so PBX stuff is new to me. I have been working on this for a week, trying different online information and nothing has worked. I have created trunks, inbound and outbound routes, and even extensions. Right now I have the HT503 FXO port logging into an extension, which allows me to dial that extension number and get the landline dial-tone and dial local numbers.

I would like to dial 79 and get the outside line and have inbound calls sent to a specific extension number.

Do I create a SIP or PJSIP trunk? What peer details should be used? How should user context/details be configured? I’m sure this is simple but the pieces are spread all over online.

This document worked for me.
https://wiki.freepbx.org/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=33293313

then go to outbound route for this ht503 and click on dial plan and enter the ext number in the prepend section and save and apply configs