Help an amateur with downloading a firmware update to a digium D80

I need to update the firmware for a D80. But I’m an amateur at this and dont entirely understand digiums guide.

1. Obtain the IP of the phone by navigating to the about section on the screen.
    I have the IP address

2. SSH into your Linux system or PBX system (Please note that not all asterisk base system allows SSH access, please use a third party linux server if this is the case)
    I can SSH into the freepbx

3. Confirm connect to the phone by pinging the IP address , it’s very important that the system that is pushing the firmware has direct access to the phone.
    I can ping the phone

4. Download and unpack the firmware version to be installed , you can obtain the available firmware by visiting http://downloads.digium.com/pub/telephony/res_digium_phone/firmware
    I have it downloaded, but i’m not sure what it means by unpacked? does that mean unzip?

5. Access the directory that the firmware was unpacked.
    I’m not sure how to do this

6. Execute the following command: REMOVED BY ADMIN
    Haven’t got this far

7. Ping the phone until it becomes unreachable and wait until it comes back. Once the phone is pingable you will have confirmation that the firmware update is complete.

Thank you for understanding that my knowledge is limited, and any help will be greatly appreciated

Help us help you. Where do you get lost?

I list my issues in the digium guide under each question. I meant to highlight them

First, you should probably be doing this from the PBX Console. Log into the console (or SSH in) as ‘root’ with the admin password you set when you built the system.

Yes. When you unzip it, the files get dropped into a directory. Unpack is the generic term in case the files are stored in in a Tar Zip or BZS2 file. Whatever program you need to break them out of the archive is what you’d use.

At the command prompt, ‘cd’ to the directory that was created.