Hardware requirements SMB setup

Hi all,

I have no experience whatsoever with FreePBX, but I do have experience in:

• networking
  • seting up linux
  • building servers

I’m living in Belgium. I love the features offered by FreePBX, at least what I read about them.

I’m facing the task of replacing a traditional SMB PBX connected with the telco with 4 (Euro)ISDN lines, and on the other side with 15 users (I believe this is commonly called “extensions”), and two analoge lines, one with fax device, and another is a doorphone. Additionally, the current digital phones will be replaced with IP phones.

I understand that I must install FreePBX on a server. But, my question is how to interface that host with the ISDN BRI interfaces? What kind of hardware do I need exactly for the above requirements?

You need an ISDN interface card or a router with ISDN voice interfaces that support SIP (such as the Cisco multiservice routers).

There are many manufacturers of telco interface cards for Asterisk. Digium and Sangoma are two large players. Openvox also has a great line of value priced cards.

So basically, all I need is a suitable ISDN interface card of one of those manufacturers. I can just plug it in into any server with a compatible PCI(-e) slot, and FreePBX/Asterisk will recognize it, or is there more to it?

There is a little more to it than that.

I would suggest reading up on Asterisk and DAHDI drivers.

Many of the articles are out of date and FreePBX has a new DAHDI module on the way that will simplify the process.

I

Hello, basically I’m in a situation very similar to your one and, even if I’m italian, the PSTN BRI interfaces are quite the same (Euro ISDN BRI Point to Point or Point to Multi-Point generally speaking).