Getting Started with VoIP

Hello,

I would like to replace the very old traditional phone system (http://cache.lespac.com/1/grandephoto/08/23108/73601628.jpg) of my office with something more modern like VoIP. We have 6 lines (2 dedicaded for faxes and the other for the phones). We have more than 20 phones in the office. I’m ready to change the phones, the CICS/ICS phone system, the music on hold module, etc.

I guess that FreePBX will replace the CICS/ICS and all the other modules like the music on hold…? However, I started to read on VoIP yesterday, so I’m a big newbie on this. I manage the network in the office and with that I have no problem… but VoIP is entirely new for me… and for the first time of my life…I didn’t find the information I want on Google.

Is there any general tutorial on VoIP and FreePBX to help me ? What I need outside of FreePBX ? What the PBX is really doing…? Is there any way to make redundancy with FreePBX (like hosting it on two VPS located in different regions) ? Etc… Etc…

Thank you.

Go out and buy the Asterisk book from O’Reilly. This will ensure you understand how the system works. Once you do that, FreePBX should seem pretty straightforward, it’s just a PHP front end to Asterisk.

I moved 3 posts to a new topic: Troll account found while reviewing history

Reading books about Asterisk in preparation for using FreePBX is okay for general knowledge of the internal nuts and bolts, but will not be very useful for day to day operation. For FreePBX, I know of no resources beyond installation and basic initial setup which can be found here in the wiki section or on nerdvittles or probably in a dozen other places.