Get List of Extension or Create Extension through REST API

Hi to all.
I am using FreePBX 14.0.1.1 version. I am new to this.

I need to create Extension from my application and get list of extensions also. Is FreePBX provides any REST API to do this or need to purchase any other tool.

Thanks in advance!

Freepbx has no API to do this

While there’s no direct API, you can query the online database from the Asterisk CLI (and by extension, the AMI/ARI interface) and get the known extensions through querying the /AMPUSER/ family.

cli> database show AMPUSER

It’s not as elegant and REST-API, but if what you want is the data, it’s a way.

Thanks for your reply @cynjut and @tm1000

Is it possible to create Extension using MySQL ?

Is it possible tell me how to know the MySQL DB User privileges ? I just install FreePBX through the .iso File only.I am new to Linux too :frowning:

Or is it possible to do via CRM

No. But you can use the Bulk Handler from the CLI to create an extension:
https://wiki.freepbx.org/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=37912685#fwconsolecommands(13+)-BulkImport

@lgaetz Thanks for your response.

My overall need is to create extension from the my own web application, which is run on the another one PC on the same LAN.

To achieve that, Is it possible to run the command through java application, which is run on the FREEPBX Server PC ?

Is it possible/correct way ?

Hello @karthick,

You can write a web service that will help to execute console commands on the Freepbx server.
You will send a URL with specific parameters from your application like extension number, extension name, password, outbound cli etc, and then issue the fwconsole command with the received parameters in your web service.

I suggest you to first export the configuration (bulk handler module) so you can check the csv format of an extension, and then issue the fwconsole bi command from the console to see if it is working.

fwconsole bi --type='extensions' extensions.csv