FreePBX over a 56k connection to a remote extension … Is it technically possible?

Greetings from Australia,

I am a newbie so please be gentle with me. Before I delve into FreePBX to much, I would like to know if the following would be possible …

I have a friend who lives in the country and relies on Satellite delivered internet connectivity. Unfortunately along with this high speed delivery method comes a great deal of latency, making it impractical for SIP / VOIP connections.

I thought that the following may solve the issue if it is at all possible? …

Using a standard telephone line which is always dialled up (it would be a local untimed call) and some old 56k modems connected to Raspberry Pis at each end to handle and route the data – Would it be possible to somehow route a VOIP ATA over the 56k connection data link and into a remote FreePBX server.

I understand that modems are completely different to ATAs. The modems would purely be in place to provide the data link between the ATA and the remote FreePBX server.

Is a 56k connection enough for this application and is it technically possible?

Thanks in advance for any comments or suggestions.

Regards - Colin

g.729 takes about 10k.

While I don’t understand what you are trying to do, keep in mind that 56k modems are not analog at both ends. They require an ISDN line at the server to get the 56k download. The upload is much slower. If you hook a typical 2 wire phone line and use 3Khz of bandwidth (300-3000hz), applying Shannon/Hartlet theorem you get about 26k of throughput via a line with 20db s/n ratio. Noise and transients are going to reduce that. In reality the modems will have to connect in analog using v.32 coding. This will get you to about 28k with tcp/IP and SLIP or PPP overhead.