FreePBX machine's time is one hour ahead

After the recent time change (EST to EDT), the FreePBX machine is one hour ahead. Here’s some output from various tools:

[[email protected]~ log]# zdump -v /etc/localtime |grep 2009
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 8 06:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 8 01:59:59 2009 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 8 07:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 8 03:00:00 2009 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 1 05:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Nov 1 01:59:59 2009 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 1 06:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Nov 1 01:00:00 2009 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
[[email protected]~ log]#

[[email protected]~ log]# hwclock --show
Thu 19 Mar 2009 09:24:29 AM EDT -0.671422 seconds
[[email protected]~ log]# date
Thu Mar 19 09:24:30 EDT 2009
[[email protected]~ log]# ntpdate pool.ntp.org
19 Mar 08:24:56 ntpdate[7064]: step time server 66.187.233.4 offset -3584.643477 sec
[[email protected]~ log]#

I tried stopping NTPD, running ntpdate pool.ntp.org, hwclock -systohc, and then starting NTPD. This seems to fix it for the day until around 2am when the clock jumps ahead an hour.

I’m not sure what I can do from here. I haven’t rebooted the machine yet, it’s been up for around 23 days or so, and I haven’t checked the BIOS clock. I find it odd that it keeps resetting every night.

The system is running FreePBX 2.5.1.2.

Neither FreePBX nor Asterisk do anything to change the system time, and your time change settings (zdump) seem correct, and you didn’t say anything about your area not observing DST, so I’m wondering if either your system thinks you are in a different time zone than what you really are, or you have encountered some weird operating system bug that might be fixed by doing an update of the OS. I know something’s wrong because the output of your date command is showing Thu Mar 19 09:24:30 EDT 2009 which is still about two minutes in the future as I type this reply!

Greetings,

This is an OS issue. Try reading through this link and see if this helps?

http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-10878_11-6163042.html

Hi,

Wondering if you found a resolution to this. Obviously that link is pretty old now and is dead.

I am having the same problems with AsteriskNow - which is CentOS and FreePBX. The time shown for Time Groups is an hour ahead of the operating system time. OS time is set by NTP, which is working, and the time zone afaik is set to Australia/Brisbane. It’s as if FreePBX has it’s own TZ settings, and is set to Sydney (which is on DST, an hour ahead of the Brisbane TZ).

Not having any luck finding a resolution to this. As far as I’ve found, there isn’t anywhere in CentOS that specifies DST or not, and as mentioned, it doesn’t seem to be configured for a DST TZ.

[[email protected] ~]# cat /etc/sysconfig/clock
ZONE=“Australia/Brisbane”
[[email protected] ~]# date
Thu Feb 6 16:06:23 EST 2014

It has been a while but I think we did a bios update, centos os upgrade and that fixed the problem.

Good luck

set the date.time variable to the proper time zone

That fixed it.

Thanks for your help, bksales.