FreeBPX roll-your-own vs. FreePBX appliance or PCXact appliance (maybe hosted too)

I’ve searched, so I hope this post doesn’t annoy some. Wait - it will. Sorry.

So, I’m struggling to understand why I should purchase EITHER of the appliances versus a roll-your-own solution, installing freePBX on a server of my choosing.

Obviously, some background is necessary to consider before you reply. I’m a very longtime sysadmin. I’ve been doing this since '88. I’m the IT Director at a private school and fully implemented a Barracuda Networks Cudatel 270b 7 years ago. I did this myself with a minimal amount of help from a friend. I’ve completely managed this device myself for the past 7 years and would use it another 20 years if &#%@!# Barracuda Networks weren’t eliminating the Cudatel product line completely from their product lineup. Grrrr!

So - hardware: I have hardware that (according to what I read) will be MUCH more than sufficient to run the FreePBX software. I’ve got an HP dl380 gen7 that I can fully dedicate to this project.

Training: at this moment, I’m sitting in my hotel in Toronto, waiting to go to the FreePBX training class at Tech4Canada, starting tomorrow. I suspect this should provide the implementation and management training I need to fully do this. I’ve started watching Chris’ videos on the Sangoma website.

Support: I manage several other community-driven software packages like Spiceworks and a couple open-source monitors. So, all-in-all I’m OK w/ community-driven support. I understand (from the support-2 page with POMP options) you can also purchase a’la carte support in blocks, so I’m OK w/ that as well. I expect to be running this on my own and only need help occasionally, like when I have to (good grief not very often!) call Microsoft for some deep, dark problem with my AD or DNS that may have been due to an ancient server being improperly de-provisioned 8 years ago and its remnants not being properly cleaned up - that kind of stuff.