Forgot FreePBX Admin Password

I had to change my FreePBX admin password recently due to security reasons. Does anyone know how to reset this without having to re-install Asterisk and FreePBX?

Can you get to the root command prompt?

Yes.

I am new to Asterisk and FreePBX, what is the syntax to use at the CLI

(Hehe I did this before (along time ago) it still echos around some FreePBX distros)

from bash

mysql -D asterisk -u root -pmyrootpassword -e "UPDATE ampusers SET password_sha1=’echo -n imanidiotandforgotmypassword|sha1sum|cut -d ' ' -f 1’ WHERE username=‘admin’ "

1 Like

Dicko

Please stop. I about passed out laughing at your last two posts. :wink:

The better way is to use our unlock feature we have outlined here. http://wiki.freepbx.org/display/L1/amportal+commands

Better perhaps Tony, and at least official, but I challenge you to a speed test :wink:

Dicko your way is fine but can lead to someone doing something stupid with commands and breaking MySQL. I just gave the official way of how to get into your GUI without changing the password in MySQL.

Well, I must agree , if they lost their password, they are probably prone to stupidity. One could perhaps modify the one liner to an “insert into” to add a new user with unlimited access, this of course would be much easier to do if the system you have does not have a root mysql password, that would give one the benefit of a one second one liner, without being a risk otherwise :wink:

So my “better” solution:-

mysql -D asterisk -e “INSERT INTO ampusers (username,password_sha1,sections) VALUES (‘verysafeuser’,’echo -n 'easypassword'|sha1sum|cut -d ' ' -f 1’,’*’ )”

will work for those without a root password set in mysql, add the -p and -u as appropriate if you have a more secure system.

OK without having to know any mysql commands or passwords the FreePBX unlock tool works perfect.

Tony: