Flowroute Question

I’m a bit of a noob so please take it easy on me! In the last few weeks we started having intermittent issues with outgoing calls and not having any audio, incoming was never a problem. Our trunk to Flowroute was setup as chan sip, and there was no port forwarding required for our router. This configuration worked for years up until a few weeks ago. When these issues started coming up, I switched over to pjsip, added the port forwarding, but still had the same issues. Long story short, I had missed a setting they have on their setup page which states:
“To reduce latency, Flowroute uses Direct Media Delivery. To receive Direct Media, allow UDP packets from any source IP address with a destination port within your system’s RTP public media port range”
Now my question, isn’t this a giant security hole? I’m told by them that they cannot specify a network range as this is one of their peers. Is this normal to just allow everything on the internet within that port range into freepbx? Is there something I should do on the freepbx side to lock this down a little more? Should I be looking at another sip provider? Thanks.

On a properly configured system, nothing should be listening on UDP ports 10000-20000, other than Asterisk RTP. You can confirm this by issuing
netstat -4unlp
at a root shell prompt.

There was a bug that allowed an attacker to intercept RTP, fixed long ago in Asterisk; see https://www.rtpbleed.com/

Some folks believe that a significant vulnerability remains, see for example RTPbleed Security Alert: Asterisk Calls Can Be Intercepted – Nerd Vittles
IMO this is paranoia; there have been no reports of exploits in several years.

Note that not forwarding the RTP port range can cause problems unrelated to Flowroute (or any provider). For example, a call between two remote extensions will have no audio; Asterisk isn’t sending RTP because it isn’t receiving any, so the NAT association is never opened.