First time user - USB phone card?

I’m wanting to setup FreePBX to be used at home if possible. I’ve never used this before and it’s kinda alot ot grasp so hoping someone can help guide me a little.

I’m having a phone line wired up next week and wanting to run that into the PBX server to use for calls. So in terms of connecting to the PBX box, am I able to use an rj11 to USB device with the system? If so what are compatible models to do this? I can go with a PCI card but I’ll have to move the PBX box to a different server to do that so hoping to avoid that if possible.

Once there’s a phone uplink to the box is there any additional configuration that needs done on the PBX system to allow calls to be processed through the POTS line?

Long term I’m hoping to setup the PBX box for SIP clients if possible so I can handle calls on my desktop whenever I’m home working and also allow it to be my voicemail service. Also may look into automated fax down the line if everything else works out.

No offense but you may be over your head here… I’d suggest you start with this video series… It’s a version behind but it’s just the basics so it’s still relevant.

Thank you for the video, I wouldn’t say I’m in over my head necessarily. I work with Mitel with SIP/PRI on that system. I’m just asking specifically what are my options for hardware to terminate POTS to the FreePBX system

Browsing over the video he doesn’t really touch base on specific options for POTS hardware, just that it’s legacy and doable with FreePBX.

I’m more so asking hardware specifics for the analog line. Could I run something like the Sangoma - U100 USB with 2 ports? Or am I going to be better off using a PCI card for analog lines like the OpenVox A400E04?

I’m hoping to avoid buying a full blown hardware appliance like the VEGA-60GV2-0800 but if that’s the easiest long term solution it is what it is and I wouldn’t mind that option.