First steps to setup - not as easy as I thought!

So, I’m new here but I have many years experience in setting up PBX’s; just not Linux/Asterisk based. This system is just not giving me the queue’s I’m expecting and posing lots of questions I can’t answer or relate to.

For example, to setup a SIP trunk\channel, I would expect to need a server address or IP address and a username & password, along with maybe a CLI to use as outbound - just for the basic setup. Here, I get chan_sip, chaun_pjsip, dahdi, iax2, enum, dundi or custom. I don’t think I fit any of the others having looked them up but even the custom one does not fit the template for what I’m expecting. I do understand that there is going to be some unfamiliarity with the tool but equally I was expecting there to be some common IP PBX elements that I could relate to.

Seems I need to go on a long training course even just to get this test box to carry out basic functions. Am I missing something or is this how it is with FreePBX?

Thanks,

Simple

Chan_sip or PJSIP are the asterisk specific “SIP” channel drivers and would be where to start. You should take a look at wiki.freepbx.org and if you create an account at portal.sangoma.com you can enroll in the free FreePBX Essentials to view online video tutorials and even a certification test within the Sangoma University section.

You of course can give SIPStation a Free Trial directly from within FreePBX as well, there is no simpler way to get SIP connectivity to your system.

Thanks reconwireless,

I’m coming from the point of view that I have my SIP’s sorted out and would be reluctant to change as it would mean number porting and so on. Hopefully this won’t be necessary.

I have tried to make my way through the wiki but there is so much to read and so little ground to be made.