Fail2Ban not starting up

I recently had failure of my FreePBX 15 distro. Was running it on HyperV and the file system appears to have gotten corrupted. I’m a Linux novice, so rather than figuring out how to repair the filesystem, I decided to start over and install the FreePBX 16 distro onto the same hyperV machine and restored a recent backup. All worked pretty well with a few minor glitches. Thanks to the developers for making this part easy.

The major glitch that I can’t seem to figure out is that fail2ban won’t start. Firewall is up and I don’t have the adaptive firewall running right now, so I don’t think the fix is emergent, but I would like to turn on the adaptive firewall for some users outside the local network.

PBX Version: 16.0.26
PBX Distro: 12.7.8-2208-2.sng7
Asterisk Version: 18.14.0

In firewall > intrusion detection in the GUI, clicking start results in no change to the STOPPED status

In the CLI:
entered:

systemctl -l status fail2ban

results:
● fail2ban.service - Fail2Ban Service
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/fail2ban.service; disabled; vendor preset: disabled)
Active: failed (Result: start-limit) since Tue 2022-12-06 16:20:36 CST; 24min ago
Process: 53313 ExecStart=/usr/bin/fail2ban-client -x start (code=exited, status=255)
Process: 53312 ExecStartPre=/bin/mkdir -p /var/run/fail2ban (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
Dec 06 16:20:36 freepbx.parkwayentandallergy.com systemd[1]: fail2ban.service: control process exited, code=exited status=255
Dec 06 16:20:36 freepbx.parkwayentandallergy.com systemd[1]: Failed to start Fail2Ban Service.
Dec 06 16:20:36 freepbx.parkwayentandallergy.com systemd[1]: Unit fail2ban.service entered failed state.
Dec 06 16:20:36 freepbx.parkwayentandallergy.com systemd[1]: fail2ban.service failed.
Dec 06 16:20:36 freepbx.parkwayentandallergy.com systemd[1]: fail2ban.service holdoff time over, scheduling restart.
Dec 06 16:20:36 freepbx.parkwayentandallergy.com systemd[1]: Stopped Fail2Ban Service.