Fail2Ban Help FreePBX 13

Hello FreePBX Forum,

Thanks for the great forum. This is my first time posting to this forum requesting your expertise. I installed FreePBX 13 onto CentOS 7 using the wiki guide (I cannot post a link because I am new to the forum). I am aware that I would not be able to install the commercial modules on CentOS 7. The help that I am seeking is in regards to Fail2Ban. I installed Fail2Ban on it’s own by using “yum install fail2ban” and I made a copy of the jail.conf file “jail.local” and then I edited the .local file to change the bantime, maxretry, findtime, and destemail information. However it does not seem to work with FreePBX 13. My question is: How can I interconnect/link Fail2Ban to FreePBX 13 without using the commercial module? Or is it even possible? Any help would be greatly appreciated. If the question seems too ambiguous, I can provide more information as needed.

The fail2ban that the system uses (configuration-wise) is tightly coupled to the performance of the Integrated Firewall. There was some work on-going to allow for “manual” updates to be added to the firewall. I don’t know what the status of that work is. @xrobau is the primary belly-button for that.

Having said that, I don’t believe the same thing can be said for fail2ban.

In a distro system, all of this work is done in the Firewall Config module and is managed from the GUI that way. I suspect that what you are trying to do manually can actually be managed through the module, and if it can’t, you need to submit a trouble ticket through the “Issues” link above.

@cynjut

Thank you for your reply. I will take a look at that and see if I can make it work that way. If not, I will take your advice and open up a trouble ticket.

There is no point opening a ticket unless you are running a supported platform. Manually installing FreePBX means manually installing and configuring everything else as well.

Hello Igaetz,