Extension not found

I am an Asterisk and FreePBX beginner and it appears the simplest things don’t work for me. I have FreePBX 2.4.0 and Asterisk 1.6.0-beta9 (and I have also tried 1.4.21 and 1.4.17), all on Ubuntu 8.04.

I have created two SIP extensions and one SIP trunk. I have installed two SIP clients: ExpressTalk and X-Lite on a Windows PC. I have set them up and successfully connected to Asterisk which I confirmed by looking at FreePBX’s system status page as well by running “sip show peers” in Asterisk CLI.

The SIP trunk is supposed to connect a remote Linksys SPA-3102 to Asterisk in order to provide means for inbound and outbound PSTN calls. This device also registers successfully with Asterisk.

Other than this nothing works. :frowning:

When I try to call the other extension from either of the two SIP clients, I get “Not found” error. If I try to call *xy, this throws the same error. Basically, anything I type in either of SIP clients ends up with “Not found” error.

I wasn’t too optimistic about getting Linksys to work straight away but setting up two simple extensions seemed like a straightforward task.

Inspecting Asterisk’s logs reveals warnings as follows:
netsock.c: Unable to set SIP RTP TOS to 184, may be you have no root privileges
chan_sip.c: Call from ‘111’ to extension ‘222’ rejected because extension not found.

Any thoughts?

What is the context of your extensions? usually this is from-internal.

In your logfile around this time, do you see a Dial command executed? If so, what are its arguments?

For testing purposes, you could place temporarely a
exten => 222,1,Dial(SIP/222,30,t) in your [from-internal-custom] context, and see fi it gets executed

If dialing the SIP/222 fals, there is probably a problem with your sip registration

If you do a sip show peers, what is the actual output?