Eth0: Link is down

Hi All,
So this server is 13.0.190.7. Occasionally inbound calls stop working. Looking in /var/log/messages I see eth0: Link is down. Making an outbound call seems to fix the inbound issue for some time. A few hours later I’ll realize that inbound is not working again… repeat…

Please, what could be the problem?

Thank You,
John

“Link is down” means that the physical connection between your /dev/eth0 device and what you are connected to is broken, i.e. you unplugged the cable, an intermediary switch is broken, or your virtualization is broken, this is a basic networking problem and nothing to do with FreePBX.

Hello Dicko,
This is not my first FreePBX and is on the same switch, router and modem as I’ve been using for about 8 years. I’ve never had this problem before. None of my other equipment or computers are having any trouble using the same devices.

There doesn’t appear to be any issues with cabling. No mice or anything like that. :wink:

Could it possibly be the on-board eth connector of the server machine? This seems to have been an intermittent issue since setting up on this machine.

Also, when I notice that inbound is failing, I make an outbound which works and then inbound is working again. Making an outbound call fixes no inbound calls every time. This doesn’t not seem like a router or cable problem to me.

Thanks again,
John

Yes, it easily could be the nic, try replacing it.

ehhh it’s on-board. Thank you though. I’ll try finding one that will fit into this shallow case.

Just look on amazon or ebay for “low profile” network card, pci pci-x or whatever . . . .

I have and will never shop on amazon. I found a couple of cards in the drawer. Just removed the metal bar from the end. trying one out now. Thank you