Embedded systems ARE fun!

No, seriously, they are.

I’ve been messing around with some ARM stuff for the past couple of weeks, and one of the things that has ended up on my desk is a Banana Pi M3 - which has an 8 core A83t CPU.

This thing’s awesome.

So, of course, today - on what is MEANT to be a weekend - I’m going to see how hard it is going to be to get FreePBX working on it.

I expect that it’ll be pretty painless, especially as I’m going to be building it with a Debian 8 image, but… This is what I do for fun.

I’m such a nerd.

BPi M3 Specs:

• Octa-core 1.8GHz A83t CPU.
  • 2 GB LPDDR3 memory.
  • 8 GB eMMC storage.
  • WiFi & Bluetooth 4.0 onbaord.

Yes. This thing has 8gb of flash already built in. There should be no need for a SD card!

http://www.banana-pi.org/m3.html

This is meant to be a U3 card, with 80MB/sec write. Pfft. It even came in a shiny gold box too!

Well I’ve been running raspbx on a Raspberry Pi 2 for a couple of months now

http://www.raspberry-asterisk.org

And yes, they are fun. Especially compared to the monster box that was the old proprietary analog system it replaced.

Oh yes, I know they’re fun. But the mental contortions people put themselves through to try to treat them as anything APART from fun is really entertaining.

I found this the comment the other day, when I was looking for some real world data on SD lifespan:

It’s hilarious. He goes through ALL the problems and how unreliable his Pis (he’s up to his third now), and then ends with this

So if you will use the pi in a 7/24 environment, don’t be cheap

I would phrase that somewhat differently.

If you want a 7/24 environment, don’t be cheap and use a Pi

In fact, after looking at these BPi M3’s, it looks like they’re broken out of the box, even worse than the RPis. The thermal dissipation requirements for the A83 chip almost demands a heatsink, and yet there’s not one installed by default, or even a warning that it’s going to be unstable unless you put one on.