Driver Sirrix SRX-PCI4S0EC in current Kernel? In FreePBX? Confused! Please help!

Dear FreePBX-Community,

as a newbie I would like to start building a freepbx server with the Sirrix-Card since it offers Four ISDN-BRIs so I can attach it directly to 3-4 ISDN-DECT-Stations … very nice hardware-wise (no fussing with Cologne-HFC Cards, soldering etc).

I would like a plug and play solution as much as possible.

But is there support for Sirrix PCI4S0 (SRX-PCI4S0EC) in current Kernel? Only Kernel 2.6 is mentioned. Perhaps its obvious for most people that this means “>= 2.6”, but I would like to make sure its supported.

Since there are multiple ISDN-Subsystems (some deprecated) the situation is even more confusing for me.

Does FreePBX recognize it w/o hassle?

Are the drivers completely Open-Source?

Since Sirrix was sold to Rhode & Schwarz I did not find much information and I was unable to reach the company by phone … :frowning:

Thanks a lot in advance!

Regards, M

you have to manually compile dahid with the patch and install freepbx tar file. I think the ISO of freepbx can not find your card.

Thank you, James!

What is “dahid”? Google does not find it?

Is it an option in the kernel? Is a “make install” sufficient?

Last time I configured and compiled a kernel was 20 years ago …

I conclude that the whole driver is still maintained and open source?

Sorry for the many questions, but I am really unsure how to proceed!

Regards, M

Possibly

will help.

Hello,

did I understand that correctly, that dahdi-linux is the telephony-interface containing all the drivers (also for the Sirrix-Card(s)) and needs to be compiled from source.

Can this be compiled on any given distribution of today or only on debian or even only with an ancient Kernel?

I read some gruesome things about dropped ISDN-support in new kernels … which is really bad.