Domain name in sip address

Hello all,

I’m fairly new to FreePBX. I have question regarding sip addresses. When I call one of my extensions my current setup shows the servers private IP in any of the local extensions sip address’s eg: [email protected].

This is causing a problem when I redial the sip address from call history. The server can only be reached from outside the network on its wan IP. The private IP that is sent with the call and stored in the call history does not work as expected. Having the Wan IP in the address would work but Ideally I want callers ID’s to show as {extension}@{domain name} eg: [email protected]

Is it possible to set this in FreePBX as I cannot find a way to do it. I have tried to the Outbound CID but this does not seem to work.

Any pointers would be very much appreciated.

pjsip
Asterisk 12.8.2
FreePBX 12.0.76.2

Without knowing your setup better its hard to give you a perfect answer.

But under your extension try changing Host from dynamic to the hostname you want to use.

But be careful that your firewall(s)/name resolution systems can properly and efficiently hairpin external hostnames back to local network hosts.

1 Like

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion. I cannot find the ‘host’ option when I view an Extension in FreePBX panel. After some further searching it seems to be pointing to a setting called ‘fromdomain’ in sip.conf. I have added fromdomain=sip.domain.com to sip.conf and that does not seem to have any effect. It could be that I’m using pjsip? For example, I call 6004 from 6002 and the following shows as the incoming call ‘[email protected]’. I need it to show ‘[email protected]

look again :wink: , what does (from bash)

head -5 /etc/asterisk/sip.conf

return?

so if you are using pjsip please understand that sip is NOT pjsip so don’t pointlessly “f” with the sip configs.

I thinking (a guess) that sip and pjsip settings are completely different so my ‘fromdomain’ change should not have effect for pjsip.