Do conferences support video?

Hey, I’m completely new to FreePBX. My predecessors set everything up and now I’m supposed to make video conferencing work. I don’t even know if conferences support video. The audio btw. works flawlessly, but no video. Would be awesome if someone could point me in the right direction! xD

Thx for the link! Though, we’re actually building an app for Android and iOs using React Native. Our app already supports audio and video calls. The only problem left is that we can’t get the video to work with conference calls.

Hi Linus, in addition to the option defcomllc provided, the standard conference application built into asterisk (app_conference) supports video if you connect with SIP or webrtc video clients.

https://www.asterisk.org/introducing-dana-the-stream-gatekeeper/ might give you some ideas of how to integrate your app.

1 Like

That looks interesting! Thx a lot!
We’re using PJSIP. I’m thinking that maybe the video actually gets sent along with the audio but we’re unable to detect it in React Native. Do you know if there is a way via FreePBX to find out if the video gets actually sent?

You can enable pjsip logging on the Asterisk console: pjsip set logger on to see whether the SDPs contain video streams. Otherwise you would just have to capture (wireshark, etc).

If you are using FreePBX to configure your conference rooms you will need to enable video support separately; e.g.

root@pbx:/etc/asterisk# cat confbridge_custom.conf 
[default_bridge](+)
;video_mode=follow_talker
video_mode=first_marked

video_mode options are documented at https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/display/AST/ConfBridge+Configuration , except this document does not include video_mode=sfu which you would want if you are doing multiple stream forwarding.

First of all thx so much for you help!
Yes, we’re indeed using FreePBX to configure our conference rooms.